Posted by: edsyrett | 2 September 2008

Google Chrome


I’ve had FireFox crank up processor usage to 80% and hang.  I had to reboot my machine a couple of times.   And once you have the tabs, the link bar, the navigation toolbar, and the title bar of the window itself, that’s screen real-estate that I could use.

I’m a big Google user – email, calendar, reader, bookmarks, notebook and docs are all right there on my iGoogle page.  I like the UI and how it all fits together.

Today, I’m reading the BBC News page, and there’s an article about Google Chrome.  Eventually, the links lead to this comic book.

I have to say I’m really looking forward to getting my hands on Chrome.   If it stops buggy web pages bringing my whole browser (and potentially my pc) down, then I’m in.  I like the sound of the individual tabs and plugins being in their own process, and the idea of Precise Garbage collection, and the fact that Google already have access to the list of the most populate websites across the whole world so that they can test with them.

Gimme Chrome…..

Responses

  1. should be interesting to see if Chrome works more efficiently than FireFox and IE… if it’s faster than Firefox, since isn’t IE, then i’ll use it


Leave a Reply

Categories

